Last Words

Published February 19, 2013 by atirahjewel

If I should die on the ‘morrow,

I should do so with utter content,

I have lived my life fully,

I have known love,

As well as I have known heartbreak,

I have known longing,

And satisfaction,

I have felt happiness,

I have felt sorrow,

I have been taken by anger,

Admiration has made its way through my heart,

Contempt has drowned me,

I have succeeded,

As well as failed,

Opportunities have been grasped,

Some I have allowed to pass me by,

If I should fall to my death today,

I would do so with no regrets,

Yet with all the regrets I could possibly feel,

I would wrap myself in the cloak of Death,

I would fall into its embrace,

And embrace it back tightly,

Filled with nothing but love,

If I should die now,

I would do so with utter contentment,

Because I would know that this is all I was made for,

Let Death come for me,

So I may gladly take its hand,

As tears flow steadily down my face,

I would be eternally filled with happiness,

If I should die now,

I would have completed my cycle,

And finally felt a peace.

Copyright © 2013 by

Atirah Jewel

 

Leave a Reply

