Just for Now

Published July 6, 2012 by atirahjewel

Just now, even if just for the night,

Let’s forget who we are,

Just for the night,

We need no personal identities,

We just need ourselves,

Just for now,

We can be just you and me,

A man and woman in love,

We can hold each other at last

And not give a damn what anyone says,

Because for now you are just you,

And I am just me,

Kiss me,

Hold me,

Love me,

Taste me,

Want me,

And I’ll do it for you,

I’ll be everything for you,

I’ll be nothing for you,

I’ll do it all for you,

So just for now, be a man,

And let me be a woman,

And let’s love.

Copyright © 2012 by

Atirah Jewel

2 comments on “Just for Now

  • Reminds me of a song by Florence and the Machine called “Remain Nameless”. It has the lines “call me what you want to/call me when you need me”. It’s an album track but it’s on Youtube if you want to take a listen – fits very well with the passionate feel of your poem.🙂

  • Leave a Reply

