Maidening

Published May 29, 2012 by atirahjewel

I actually wrote this poem in early September of 2010, so it reads somewhat differently from my newer works but nonetheless, I hope it is enjoyed.🙂

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

One day I was a mere child,

Playful and careless,

The next day I was a woman,

I slept with white surrounding me,

I awoke to a crimson red stained on my sheets,

My transformation was quick,

And in my sleep,

The bushes last pink rose,

Finally turned red,

Finally grew a thorn,

Now proud, now joyous,

The petals full and wide,

Covered with the morning dew,

In the center a widow spins her web,

Its pattern an enigma, a mystery,

The spider spins its mysteries for the rose, for me,

As it has done countless times before,

For the other roses,

For the other women,

Entered into the mystery of womanhood I now am,

I feel like I am walking the same path I have always been,

Just now I need no one to hold my hand,

Only using my heart to guide me,

Floating inches above the ground,

My blood nourishes the earth,

My blood of life that the widow spun for me,

My blood that makes me a woman,

Though I bleed,

Though I am now a woman,

At heart I will always be that child,

Playful and careless,

That pink rose,

With no thorns to prick,

If I change all else,

That will always remain the same.

Copyright © 2012 by

Atirah Jewel

2 comments on “Maidening

  • Leave a Reply

