Watcher

Published November 4, 2011 by atirahjewel

A strong and happy man,

I watch the sea while boats come through,

I long to sail but I must stay,

I am a protector of this land,

Forbidden to step foot on a boat,

A loving tribe is what we are,

But I am lonely for I have not a neighbor,

And my family is gone at sea,

We are safe though,

Our land high above the crashing waves,

I am a man, strong and happy.

Copyright © 2011 by

Atirah Jewel

One comment on “Watcher

  • Your poems have stories in them, clear as a mirror lake. That’s really great. Your language is beautiful. I could always help you smooth things out if you want, just few things though
    Figment, inkpop, young writers society ate great sites too.

    The senses really come alive in your writing with amazing imagery. Keep up the awesome work! Together we could be poet for USA laureate or win a prize!

  • Leave a Reply

